Addictive Blog Award: Meet the Nominees

Caffeine. Sugar. Love. Fast food. Crack cocaine. Destructive relationships. Weed.

People are addicted to all sorts of things, but I never thought a blog would be one of them. Then I was nominated for the Addictive Blog Award by the intelligent and lovely Rainshadow Noba at Notes from the Backseat. It is quite an honor and I would like to thank her for thinking of Gnostic Bent. Being recognized by your peers is always flattering.

I started this blog just over three months ago because I lacked inspiration and needed to “jump start” my writing. For years, I wrote nothing because I was teaching college English and reading terrible papers on a far-too-regular basis. All the grammatical errors, plagiarism and “text message spelling” drained my creativity and effectively killed my muse. This is my attempt to get her back. And so far, it seems to be working.

These past three months of blogging have been extremely exciting, to say the least. Aside from being the most productive writing period in my life, blogging has also reaped all kinds of unexpected rewards. The most significant are my readers and fellow bloggers. WordPress is an amazing community of talented and supportive people. I have developed online friendships with all sorts of bloggers from around the world and feel more connected than ever. And my readers—including those who don’t blog on the site—are so thoughtful, interesting and loyal. I do my best to respond to all of their comments not because I’m afraid of losing them, but because they deserve a reply and honestly, I like chatting with them. Thanks for all your support, dear readers!

In the beginning of Gnostic Bent, I doubted whether anyone would bother reading my work. Then I got another unexpected reward: my post “10 things that suck about being a guy” made it to Freshly Pressed! What came next was a flood of views and comments to rival the Great Flood. I spent an entire weekend responding to compliments and criticism and watched as my views rose with supersonic speed. This still stands as my most successful post with almost 14,000 views and more than 450 likes in only a few months. Of course, now I doubt myself every time my posts aren’t Freshly Pressed, but I suppose that’s to be expected.

Now it’s time for me to fulfill my Addictive Blog responsibilities. Here are the rules for the award:

  • Write a post and start by thanking the person who nominated you. Be sure you link to them, too.
  • Share a little something about why you blog (i.e. your blogging journey).
  • Paste the Addictive Blog Award on your front page.
  • Nominate ten blogs that you are addicted to, link to them in your post and then let each of them know—when you do, be sure to give them the link to the post you just wrote!

Although I normally bounce through the blogosphere, randomly reading different posts on a variety of different topics, I find myself visiting these ten blogs the most. When I’m away from them, I break out in cold sweats, experience shortness of breath and even succumb to mild hallucinations. They’re just so addictive, baby. I need more…

Impybat’s Emporium

Lady or Not… Here I Come

I just want to lay on a beach

Comic Belief

Dianne Gray: Writing and Loving Life!

ashikhmina

Iconicallyrare

Lies Our Parents Told Us

[thoughts of a lunatic]

s1ngal

Congratulations to you all!

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Perspectives, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, Scott! Well done 🙂

    Thank you so much for the nomination – I’ll be checking out the other addictive blogs now (I need a blogging hit 😀 )

  2. Congratulations!
    Greetings from Belgium!
    Eric

  3. We’re all gonna end up in Blogger Rehab because of all these addictive blogs, ya know 😛

  4. I can’t find any reason to blog when I can just enjoy following all of you interesting,talented people.Good excuse to be lazy.So many bloggers,every subject covered somewhere,and much more amusing than I am.

    • I agree completely about the interesting blogs out there, doglady. But don’t let that stop you from starting one of your own. I’m sure it would be just as interesting as these others! 🙂

  5. absolutely *like* it… *love* it… *adore* it… :gushing with god knows what:
    Thank you Gnostic Bent aka mars6995 xoxooxox

  6. errr Thank you. forgot to thank you above… now you know how excited I must’ve been. THANK YOU for the award. Appreciate it from the bottom of my heart!!

    • Anytime, s1ngal. You earned it and I am glad it made you happy. And by all means, please feel free to call me Scott. I appreciate the kind words and look forward to hearing more from you soon. Keep up the good work!

  7. OK, it’s like I can’t stop commenting… heheheh. well here’s me nominating back ONLY because I’m addicted to your blog heheheh http://s1ngal.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/addiction-awarded/

  8. Hey Mr Scott! Just got your ‘passing through’ message on my blog :-D. Don’t worry I’ve definitely not forgotten of Gnostic Bent! In fact, I read about this Addictive Award you got (hurray! and Congratulations!) last night but WP app on my phone is just plain crap! 😦 Just useless, if I’m being a honest. Anywho, that aside, you certainly deserve this award! I love your little news story from all over the world! I prefer reading them than reading Yahoo News! hahah. So keep ’em coming. And congrats once again! 😉

    • Thanks, Donah. And please don’t think I forgot about you in terms of award nominations. Just trying to spread the love around a little. You’re on my radar, though, so it won’t be long now. Please keep in touch and thanks again for the kind words. I hope your little man is doing well and will catch up with you soon! See ya!

  9. You are addictive! I look forward to your posts everyday and notice when you don’t have at LEAST one up there…like today, huh? Where’d ya go?? Just giving you a hard time, I know personally I am having trouble finding the time to write, real life just gets in the way! Thanks, thanks, thanks for the nomination, very flattering!! Especially coming from a blogger such as yourself! Thanks Scott 🙂

    • You are too kind, Kara. And very deserving of the award, so post it with pride. You’re absolutely right about the slow-down in posts today. Work has been crazy and I’ve been sleeping most of my free time away. Hoping to get back on the horse tonight, so keep your eyes peeled. And congratulations again, sister! 🙂

  10. So, post FP what is your views and likes average?

  11. Congratulations and well deserved. You have mastered the way of catching a reader’s attention from the get-go. I responded to your nomination. With gratitude., ~Sonya

  12. What a sweet award! Love it! Couldn’t agree with you more, as a journalist I write every day but I rarely get to be creative with my writing. Blogging has given me a new lease of life!

All replies welcome

