Stop the Dash bashing

Stacey Dash

Don’t hate her because she’s beautiful and Republican! (Stacey Dash/Twitter)

The beautiful and talented Stacey Dash, one of the stars of the film “Clueless,” is under attack on Twitter because of a tweet she sent in support of Mitt Romney‘s presidential campaign.

“Vote for Romney. The only choice for your future,” read the tweet. Beside it was a sexy picture of Dash wearing a red bathing suit and standing in front of an American flag.

Since the tweet was released, Dash has been bashed by all sorts of Obama supporters. And most, if not all, of the responses have been incredibly offensive and unfair. Take this tweet, for instance:

“You’re an unemployed black woman endorsing @MittRomney. You’re voting against yourself thrice. You poor beautiful idiot.”

Correct me if I’m wrong, but we still live in America, right? In my USA, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, even when it goes against the grain, so to speak. And in Dash’s case, supporting Romney is her prerogative. She certainly shouldn’t have to support Obama just because they share the same race. And the fact that people are attacking her for sharing her views astounds me.

We live in the land of the free, people. And whether you like it or not, freedom applies to all of us, including gorgeous celebrities like Stacey Dash. Cut her some slack, would you?

Posted on October 9, 2012, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. It’s no different than the Chick-Fil-A thing. During a business oriented interview, he was asked about his person beliefs and the company got caught in the crossfire. In this country, freedom of speech only applies if you are WITH the vocal majority, only if you believe in what’s popular and only if no one around you happens to disagree with you. It’s sad, but opinions aren’t tolerated in this country. They just aren’t. It’s an “Us vs Them” mentality and if you aren’t for Obama or for Gay Marriage, then you are subjected to hate speech. We are called bigots for being conservative Christians, and yet the “progressive, open minded” ones are the ones calling us these hateful names… I’ve lost friends on these issues. Good friends, calling me names like “Religibigot” because of my opinion. It doesn’t surprise me that she would be subjected to this kind of hate speech. People on the “other side” don’t see it as hate when they say it, only when someone else does. It’s quite the double standard but that’s the society we have created. Being politically correct is the only opinion that is tolerated, at least publicly.

    • I know you’re right because I’ve had friends who were treated unfairly for being conservative, religious or any host of things. And I’ve certainly taken some heat myself for my own views and beliefs. It’s messed up that we preach freedom at every turn and then persecute people for embracing their own rights. I feel for you for losing friends over all this, Notes. People should be more accepting. Just because you disagree with someone doesn’t mean you can’t happily co-exist. And frankly, there is too much hate in the world already. Time to bring peace and love back, if you ask me. Sorry. I sometimes slip back into my neo-hippie persona. Great, thought-provoking comments, Notes! As usual! 🙂

      • Notes From The Backseat

        I think the thing people forget is that there is a difference between acceptance and tolerance. I don’t have to accept your views as my own, or accept what you do in your personal time, to be tolerant of you views and your life choices.

        I once had a teacher tell me I was “a flower child 30 years too late”, I definitely understand the “neo-hippie persona” 😉

      • That’s awesome, Notes. We definitely have the flower child thing in common! LOL

  2. I am on disability and Medicare and if I had to vote for a President that wanted to cut some of my benefits for the ACTUAL benefit of our country, I would vote for him. Right now I really don’t want to vote for either. Plus I am not allowed to vote right now.

    • That might be a good thing, Time-traveler. I was Obama all the way, but may need to think hard before voting for either of these guys…

  3. Liberal hypocrisy and butthurt is the only thing propping up the current administration. They go plenty of that!

All replies welcome

