Coulter Continues to Offend

COULTER TIED UP

Ann Coulter as we would like to see her

Following the last presidential debate concerning foreign policy, conservative political pundit Ann Coulter tweeted her support for Republican candidate Mitt Romney and his decision “to be kind and gentle to the retard.”

The retard in question, at least in her opinion, is President Obama.

Ever since this tweet hit the airwaves, criticism for Coulter has continued to snowball. Of course, the tweet has also been “favorited” more than 1200 times and re-tweeted by almost 3000 people. That seems par for the course where controversial issues are concerned, and this certainly qualifies.

Earlier this week, Coulter received an open letter from John Franklin Stephens, a Special Olympian with Down syndrome, who explained what the word “retard” means to him.

“I thought first of asking whether you meant to describe the President as someone who was bullied as a child by people like you, but rose above it to find a way to succeed in life as many of my fellow Special Olympians have,” Stephens wrote. “Then I wondered if you meant to describe him as someone who has to struggle to be thoughtful about everything he says, as everyone else races from one snarky sound bite to the next. … Well, Ms. Coulter, you, and society, need to learn that being compared to people like me should be considered a badge of honor. No one overcomes more than we do and still loves life so much.”

Ann Coulter

Gunning for the mentally challenged? (courtesy of CindyCelebs)

To my knowledge, Coulter has not yet responded to Stephens.

This isn’t the first time that Ann Coulter has targeted the President with similarly offensive language. Her last tweet came shortly after Obama taped a video for the National Forum on Disability Issues: “Been busy, but is Obama STILL talking about that video? I had no idea how crucial the retarded vote is in this election.”

Despite being one of the more attractive political pundits in the world, Coulter obviously keeps her “ugly” on the inside. She thrives on controversy and honestly, I feel like all of these tweets are designed to illicit responses, whether negative or positive. I did see an interview with Coulter where she blew off the tweets, as well as her use of the word “retard.” She said our society is too focused on political correctness, which I kind of agree with, but there’s no excuse for being so tactless. I hope she realizes just how hurtful her words can be.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. As a woman with Aspergers, raising a daughter with autism and a son with a severe speech delay, all I can do is shake my head at this woman. It’s hurtful enough growing up with people treating you differently. I’ve been physically assaulted, had my welfare threatened, been raped, and dragged into the drug scene because I didn’t know how to stand up and be me. I don’t want my daughter or son growing up like that, with the pain I went through. I’d be willing to bet this woman was a bully as a child. She has to put down others to make herself her and all it does is make herself look ignorant. Her statement shows an entire generation of young people that it’s okay to use that term and it’s not. I’m not a fan of Obama’s policies, particularly where it comes to foreign affairs and our military, but I’ve never spoken bad about him as a person. He’s probably a very good man, and I don’t doubt that he’s a wonderful husband and loving father. Just because I don’t agree with his policies doesn’t give me or anyone else the right to degrade him or anyone else in an attempt to stir the pot and “be funny”.

    • Amen to everything you mentioned, Notes. I admire you for making it through so much in your life and providing such a great life for your kids 🙂

      • 🙂 You do what you have to do. A lot of it still hurts, but that doesn’t mean you stop living or stop searching for the joy. It may be hard to find sometimes, but my kids deserve a better mom than I had and that was always my goal. No matter what, they come first 🙂

      • I couldn’t agree more, Notes. And they have a GREAT mom! 🙂

  2. It sounds to me like Coulter is the retard,not the people she’s talking about.I agree with Notes.I’d bet that woman was a spoiled brat & a bully from very young age.Not to mention really stupid.

All replies welcome

