Don’t Blame Yoko

English: John Lennon and Yoko Ono

John Lennon and Yoko Ono (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

According to The Guardian and a recent interview with David Frost, surviving Beatle Paul McCartney now claims that Yoko Ono had nothing to do with the group’s 1970 break-up. By then, he says, each of the Beatles had quit the band.

“She certainly didn’t break the group up,” McCartney told Frost. “The group was breaking up.”

Since I’m such a huge fan of the Beatles, their music and specifically John Lennon, it’s hard for me to accept this news. But it did come from the proverbial “horse’s mouth,” and Paul was actually present when the group disbanded. Alas, I was still a glimmer in my mother’s eye and wouldn’t be born until the following year.

One thing that McCartney said really struck a chord with me, though. He mentioned that if not for Yoko, it is unlikely that John would have written such hits as “Imagine” and “Watching the Wheels,” songs for which Ono provided inspiration. In fact, McCartney suggests people thank her for all the solo music the individual members produced once the Beatles were in their rear-view mirrors.

I guess he has a point, so let me be the first to say something I never thought I would utter: Thanks, Yoko!

Posted on October 30, 2012, in Music, Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh and see i hear rumors we were supposed to blame her for everything!

  2. I remember all the fuss about her, and I was living in Toronto when they were there.What a parade from the airport.

All replies welcome

