Super STARS Fight Racism

Black (STARS)

A group of students from Ohio University who call themselves STARS (Students Teaching About Racism in Society) have launched a poster campaign about racial insensitivity and Halloween costumes: We’re a Culture Not a Costume. Its purpose is to raise awareness about costumes that perpetuate racial/ethnic stereotypes or insult other cultures.

On the STARS website are posters of members holding photographs of costumes the group find offensive. And I must admit they are pretty powerful. But don’t take my word for it. The posters are down below and can be viewed once you’re done reading. Please.

These STARS people are sharp and I can respect their mission: “The purpose of S.T.A.R.S. is to facilitate discussion about diversity and all isms (sexism, class-ism, hetero-sexism, ethnocentrism etc.) with an emphasis on racial issues. We aim to raise awareness about social justice, and promote racial harmony. Our job is to create a safe, non-threatening environment to allow participants to feel comfortable to express their feelings. Our guiding principle is based on the principle ‘Each One Teach One.'”

I couldn’t help bold-facing everything that jumped out at me. And although I sometimes feel people can be too sensitive about things that could easily be laughed off, I want to support these young people for being brave enough to share their feelings with the world. Please check out the posters and consider a visit to the STARS website. You won’t regret it.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I don’t blame them for being angry,I would be too.Some people are so ignorant,they go around with their heads up their butts.

  2. This one is a little tough. While I am completely against racism, sometimes to be a specific character or costume a little makeup goes a long way. I understand them saying they are a culture not a costume, but when someone, a kid more than likely, is trying to represent an individaul and not a race I think things are taken to the extreme and as an insult instead of what it really is. My daughter was a vampire and had grey and black makeup to change her complexion, I guess since vampires aren’t real there is no one to take insult from it…..or are they?

    • I believe in vampires, Kara, but that’s beside the point. You’re absolutely right about costumes. People are far too sensitive these days when those wearing “offensive” costumes likely meant no harm. I do respect these students sticking up for their beliefs, though. I’m a huge fan of freedom of expression. 🙂

      Thanks for the great comments (as always) and please keep in touch with me, sister!

  3. i think there is no need to bring it up again we know its there and lets be honest its always going to be there. We just need to teach our children to be considerate of others. I think if you keep bringing it then it causes masses of anger and there are already enough angry people in the world.

All replies welcome

