Good night, J.R.

Deutsch: Larry Hagman auf der Kinderlachen Gal...

The man behind J.R, (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Actor Larry Hagman passed away at a Dallas hospital on Friday due to complications from cancer. He was 81 years old.

Hagman is best known for his iconic television character J.R. Ewing on the prime time soap opera “Dallas” in the 1970s and 1980s. He was also Major Tony Nelson in the 1960s hit comedy “I Dream of Jeannie,” a show I used to love watching on Nick at Nite.

Barbara Eden was a cutie.

Recently, Hagman reprised his role as J.R. on TNT’s reboot of “Dallas,” a show whose days may now be numbered. His shoes may be just too big to fill.

I was never a fan of “Dallas” or other dramatic 1980s fare like “Knot’s Landing” or “Falcon Crest,” but I do remember the whole “Who Shot J.R.?” thing.

Turns out it was Kristen Shepherd, J.R.’s sister-in-law. And I couldn’t have cared less.

But Larry Hagman was a talented actor. J.R. was a scoundrel and if I did watch the show, I’m sure he would have been my favorite character. I have respect for the man and the role he made famous, so with an imaginary 40-ounce I spill a sip in honor of our lost brother. Farewell, Larry and J.R.

Posted on November 24, 2012, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

All replies welcome

