Oldest Woman Dies

Besse in her youth

I want to give a quick “shout out” to 116-year-old Besse Cooper of Monroe, Georgia, who just passed away on Tuesday.

Cooper was the oldest woman on the planet and now passes the torch to 115-year-old Dina Manfredini of Johnston, Iowa.

The Guinness Book of World Records crowned Cooper in January 2011 after Maria Gomes Valentin of Brazil died. Prior to that, Valentin held the record because she was 48 days older than Cooper.

Besse Cooper photo

Besse decades later (courtesy of Guinness Book of Records)

Of course, the oldest human being on record was Jeanne Calment, a French woman who lived to be 122. She died in 1997.

I can’t imagine living for more than 11 decades, especially if I’m still expected to pay taxes after I hit 100. And even though I would witness all sorts of history as a result, there are too many annoyances and frustrations to deal with and personally, I’m not sure it would be worth the trouble. Not that I have any chance of living that long.

Cooper saw a lot in her time on this planet. And although she lived a long and happy life, I am grateful that she finally has time to rest. Lord knows that she’s earned it.

Posted on December 6, 2012, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am still holding out hope that by the time I am 100 I will be able to grow my own younger clone that can then be used to transplant my wonderful brain into, that or I’ll turn into a vampire in the next 5 years before it all really starts to go downhill!

    • Both are great ideas, Kara. And I hope one of them works out for you. I also like the clone idea, but there’s only one problem: by the time they mature (unless we can accelerate it somehow), our old brains will be mush. What we need is a way to transfer our consciousness into a younger body… maybe a genetically-enhanced one that can last much longer and with fewer diseases, etc. That would be freaking awesome! LOL

All replies welcome

