Super Bowl Fever Sets In

The Super Bowl stage is set! (courtesy of TVRage.com)

Anyone familiar with me or my blog should know by now that my favorite professional sport is, and will always be, NFL football. And my team of choice is none other than the Pittsburgh Steelers, winners of more Super Bowls and conference championships than any other team in the league’s history.

Of course, they will also watch the Super Bowl from home after a mediocre, injury-filled season of disappointment, but that’s a story for another time.

This Sunday, the Colin Kaepernick-led San Francisco 49ers face Ray Lewis and the Baltimore Ravens in Super Bowl XLVII. And believe me when I say that this should be a game for the ages.

On one side you have the San Francisco 49ers from the NFC, a team with a history of great quarterbacks and Super Bowl victories, but a more recent past peppered with losses, personnel problems and a dwindling fan base. In the last few years, however, the 49ers have returned to prominence due in large part to their stifling defense and very capable coach, Jim Harbaugh, who is taking his team to their second consecutive conference championship.

The San Francisco offense has been more of a challenge though, as evidenced by their heartbreaking 20-17 loss in last season’s NFC championship game against the New York Giants, who went on to win the Super Bowl.  To prevent the same issues in 2012, the team signed a number of new players, including the good-but-fading wide receiver Randy Moss and former Giants receiver Mario Cunningham. It obviously paid off because this season, the 49ers offense has been hitting on all cylinders.

Granted, there was plenty of drama in San Francisco when star quarterback Alex Smith was injured, replacement Colin Kaepernick stepped in and the team continued to win. Once Smith returned, Coach Harbaugh stuck with Kaepernick–the general rule being that you never pull a player who’s hot–and drew tons of criticism for keeping his high-dollar quarterback on the bench.

Niners quarterback Colin Kaepernick is on fire (courtesy of Tony Avelar/AP)

Those same critics were silenced the moment San Francisco made the playoffs and continued their winning streak during the post season. And now that they could potentially win the Super Bowl, I don’t expect to hear anyone talking smack about Harbaugh, at least not until next season.

Across the field from the 49ers will be the AFC champion Baltimore Ravens, a team I am proud to say comes from the same division as my beloved Steelers, the AFC North. Given the rivalry between these two teams over the years–not to mention all the losses the Steelers have incurred at the hands of the Ravens–I can’t claim to be a Baltimore fan. However, I am planning to pull for them on Sunday because a win reinforces just how tough our division is.

It also stings a little less to say my Steelers lost to the Super Bowl champions. And after this season, every little bit helps.

Another reason I find myself pulling for Baltimore this year is Ray Lewis, the all-pro linebacker who single-handedly changed the face of defense in the NFL. Before the regular season ended, Lewis announced his plans to retire. This revelation obviously revved up his teammates because now, Lewis has a chance to get his second Super Bowl ring and to go out on top.

This also means Ray won’t be around to harass my Steelers any more, which is another huge plus. Hopefully this will give us a better chance of winning, but it’s only a matter of time before some other player steps up to terrorize Big Ben and the rest of my guys. At the very least, though, this is a good start.

The great Ray Lewis (courtesy of Mitch Stringer/USA Today)

So whether you love football like me or simply enjoy the hype surrounding the Super Bowl, I hope you will tune in this Sunday. Regardless of the outcome, it should be an awesome game full of big hits, unbelievable performances and above all, tons of emotion.

I hope you win your ring, Ray Lewis. And I’m going to miss you… well, sort of.

Enjoy the game, everybody!

Posted on February 1, 2013, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Evenly matched although my Packers would have walked away with the Lombardi Trophy if they hadn’t screwed up. lol My call: a higher scoring game decided by kicks…in which case the Ravens should prevail.

    • I agree, Koji. And sorry about your Packers. I like those guys and usually pull for them. At least they made it further than my Steelers. Oh well. There’s always next season. Check me out later and let me know what you think of the game tomorrow, okay? And enjoy it!

      • Well, the game’s in the books and I am $450 richer. 🙂 Although older brother Jim will likely have a heart attack soon, the game was a higher scoring affair as I thought (although no one can predict the outcome of any Super Bowl). The kicking game favored the Birds but the experience of Flacco made a significant difference. The last set of plays and the calls? Meh. Every game has them… Look at my Packers when the refs blew the final call early in the season – when the refs were replacements. They probably wouldn’t have faced the Niners.

      • You have a point, Koji. And congratulations on winning all that cash! Please let me know if you feel like investing in any personal bloggers! LOL

All replies welcome

