Pray for Argentina

Cars and garbage containers lay piled up after flash flooding caused damage overnight in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Tuesday, April 2, 2013.

The damage is pretty extensive (courtesy of the Associated Press)

My father and basically everyone on his side of the family came from the South American country of Argentina, so I always pay attention to news stories originating from my “second home.” In fact, I probably have more family there than I do in the United States!

Sadly, the latest story from Argentina is a tragic one.

Earlier this week, citizens of this wonderful nation experienced torrential rainfall that reached more than 13 inches in only a 12-hour period. And from what I understand, this is more rain than they normally receive in the entire month of April!

What makes this story so sad isn’t the heavy rain and flooding caused by this unusual storm system; it’s the fact that almost 50 people have died as a result, most of them in the city of La Plata outside the capital, Buenos Aires. Of course, at least eight people died in that city, as well.

Since most of my family lives in Buenos Aires, my fingers are crossed that none of them were affected by this storm or worse, injured as a result. I haven’t heard anything, though, so at least that’s a good sign.

The good news is that the Argentine president, Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner, is on the scene and assures resident in these affected areas that they can count on government support. Additional police patrols have also been added so flood victims will be safe. We all know that when something like this happens, looters seem to come out of the woodwork.

What it all boils down to is this: if you’re the religious type, please send some prayers to the people of Argentina and the families of those claimed by this terrible storm. I, for one, would really appreciate it.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m not really religious, but I do hope everything will be okay, and I will be thinking of them.

All replies welcome

