Bugged

Nothing like a stomach virus to kill your creativity (Affinity Health)

Nothing like a stomach virus to kill your creativity (Affinity Health)

After posting at least one article each day for more than a year and a half, it wasn’t sloth, boredom or even a natural disaster that finally ended my streak; it was a stomach bug.

Yes, for the last two days I have been a wretched and disgusting mess thanks to some kind of stomach virus my son passed on to me. He’s only six and his school is little more than a Petri dish for germs and bacteria, so I certainly can’t blame him. All I can do is try to recover and, to be honest, day two still has me feeling shaky and weak.

I stopped puking my guts out every few hours, so at least I know that I’m getting better.

Of course, blogging yesterday was impossible for any number of reasons, not the least of which was the lack of space for a laptop on the bathroom floor. Even if it had fit, I’m sure it would be useless once I covered it in vomit. And I’m confident that’s how things would have played out, so I didn’t bother risking it.

Feeling slightly better today, I did manage to drag my ass up to my office to access my desktop computer. It’s older and if I destroy it with regurgitated bodily fluids, at least I’ll have an excuse to replace it. I even managed to troll the news headlines, just to see if there was anything that piqued my interest. And it didn’t take me long to find something relatable to my current and miserable state, either.

Meet the next big thing: a giant virus from ancient times (CNRS/AMU)

Meet the next big thing: a giant virus from ancient times (CNRS/AMU)

It was a story about a virus.

Apparently, scientists working in Siberia recently uncovered a giant virus dating back 30,000 years—around the time that wooly mammoths and saber-tooth tigers walked the earth. Pithovirus sibericum—a newly discovered third family of giant viruses that infects amoebas but is harmless to humans—was found in the Siberian permafrost, which like most polar regions is thawing at an alarming rate. And scientists warn that buried even deeper in the ice could be the next big threat to life on this planet.

“This is an indication that viruses pathogenic for human or animals might also be preserved in old permafrost layers,” co-author of the study Jean-Michel Claverie indicated, “including some that have caused planet-wide epidemics in the past.”

Personally, I think I’ll stick with the stomach bug…

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

All replies welcome

