Welcome Back, Oscar!

The Golden Boy: Oscar (courtesy of the AMPAS)

Ever since I can remember, I have loved movies. In fact, I would go so far as to say I suffer from a scorching case of cinephilia.

And no, that isn’t a venereal disease.

A cinephile is obviously someone with a passionate interest in cinema, and that certainly describes me, at least in part. My passion for film runs much deeper and strikes to the very core of who I am, though. In some ways, you could even say that it defines me.

Like many of you, I have watched thousands of movies and love them for some of the same reasons you do.

On their most basic level, movies entertain and provide a much-needed escape from the banality of life. For the two hours that I’m sitting in front of that screen, I forget about the world outside and all the problems that plague me. I immerse myself in the visions of filmmakers who take me to new places, introduce me to new people and show me that the challenges I face are not as uncommon as I might think.

In other words, they connect me to the human experience in ways I might never imagine when I first sit down to watch.

Creativity is important to me, and few things are more creative than movies and the people who make them. So my love for films didn’t stop at watching them. I also learned how to create them. Initially, I just did a lot of reading about movie production, acting, directing and anything film-related that I could get my hands on. Then I tried my hand at screenwriting, even producing a feature film script and critical analysis for my master’s thesis.

Like many would-be screenwriters, though, I have rarely completed a screenplay and have not yet submitted one to a festival, production company or entertainment agency. It’s a hard world to break into and, honestly, I suffer from too much self-doubt to attempt it now. Perhaps someday soon.

Until that day comes, I will continue to watch as many movies as possible and to celebrate the achievements of the people I admire most in the industry. Luckily, the event best suited to celebrating everything “film” is scheduled for tonight: the 85th annual Academy Awards.

This evening promises to be a busy night for Oscar, that little golden statue that brings so much joy to those who receive him and draws so much envy from those who don’t.  With so many great people and films nominated in every category, predicting who will walk away with each award has been extremely difficult, even for the critics.

Just take at look at some of the nominations.

Best Picture

  • Amour
  • Argo
  • Life of Pi
  • Django Unchained
  • Lincoln
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Les Miserables
  • Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)
  • Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook)
  • Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)
  • Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
  • Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

Best Director

Granted, there are some candidates I’ve never heard of before and some films I haven’t seen yet, but that’s what makes the Oscars so great. Sometimes the fact a movie received tons of awards makes watching it after the fact even more exciting. You just don’t get that when a film is initially released.

I am thrilled to see some of my favorite actors and directors nominated for awards. How can you go wrong with mainstays like Daniel Day-Lewis, Denzel Washington and Steven Spielberg? Sure, Joaquin Phoenix has been acting a little weird these last few years, but he’s no less talented as a performer. And the infusion of new talent like Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence (who is sexy as hell) is like the cherry on top.

It should be an incredible, star-studded night both on and off the red carpet. I, for one, can hardly wait to enjoy every second of tonight’s broadcast. And regardless of where you are, I hope you have the opportunity to do the same!

Posted on February 24, 2013, in Perspectives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m actually attending an oscars party tonight, we have to dress up all glam as if we were on the red carpet, should prove for an entertaining evening! Too bad it falls on a Sunday, it will make Monday morning extra hard 🙂

  2. Like you, I am passionate about film. You hit the nail on the head. In the dark of a movie theater, I am able to get my mind off all the things I don’t want to think about. It’s the only place that happens. I look forward to this telecast all year. I’ve seen all of the best pictures nominees ( I see them all every year). My vote would to to SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK. I loved that film! It’s a terrific field this year though and all nine were great.

    You have to take a shot with one of your screenplays someday, and soon. You’re an excellent writer, I love your blog. Life’s too short. I finally took the plunge and directed my first film. It’s just about finished and it was a great experience and I have a fantastic sense of accomplishment.

    Here’s my email: gcinct@gmail.com I think I can help you out. I have a number of contacts and belong to writers’ groups both online and off.

    Keep writing and send a script out into the world. You have the passion. There is no better means of self-expression than a movie.

    • I really appreciate that, Paul. And I may take you up on that offer sometime soon. I have tons of ideas and a few things in the works, but nothing quite finished yet. Your message gives me hope, though, and I truly appreciate all the kind words. I also wish you luck with your first film and would love to see it. Please keep in touch and I’ll try and do the same. Until then, keep reading and keep those awesome comments coming, too! 🙂

All replies welcome